Government of Saskatchewan

2012-13 Results at a Glance

Saskatchewan has 47 designated trades, four of which have a compulsory apprenticeship requirement (Electrician, Plumber, Refrigeration Mechanic and Sheet Metal Worker) and one which is regulated, as well as 23 sub-trades. See the Designated Trades page.

From July 1, 2012 to June 31, 2013:

  • 1,383 persons of Aboriginal ancestry are registered apprentices; 905 First Nations; 474 Métis; and 4 Inuit.
  • 377 women are registered as apprentices in predominately male occupations.
  • $365,515 of funding has been dedicated to eight Aboriginal Apprenticeship Initiatives.
  • 3,791 youth apprentices are registered in 277 high schools across the province.
  • 80 – $1,000 SYA Industry Scholarships have been presented to Saskatchewan students completing Grade 12.
  • 55% of registered apprentices live outside the urban centres of Regina and Saskatoon.
  • 14,170 clients, including registered apprentices and tradespersons, received SATCC services.
  • 2,750 employers hired registered apprentices.
  • 1,664 Journeyperson Certificates were issued.
  • The average age of Level 1 apprentice – 27.6 years.
  • 97.8% of the technical training seats purchased by SATCC were filled by SATCC clients.

Industry plays a primary role in the delivery of the apprenticeship program.

  • Employers hire and register apprentices, and provide journeyperson supervision to apprentices.
  • Apprentices spend approximately 80% of their training time working on the job, learning the knowledge and skills of the trade from a certified journeyperson.
Apprenticeship is a partnership of industry (both employers and employees), government, education and training institutions.
  • Saskatchewan’s Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Act 1999 was proclaimed on October 1, 1999 and the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission was created.
  • Saskatchewan’s Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission is an innovative public and private sector partnership.
  • About 47 Trade Boards (176 members) have been appointed to assist the Commission in administering the apprenticeship and trade certification program in Saskatchewan. Current boards include Trade Boards, Curriculum and Examination Development Boards and Trade Examining Boards.

2012-17 Strategic Plan and 2013-14 Business Plan

For the full SATCC annual organizational chart; costs; registrations, completions, cancellations; technical training, journeyperson examinations; Saskatchewan designated trades; and definitions, see the appendices of the 2012-13 Annual Report.